Searching for the Truth – IX. Some questions and a final Answer

Published July 11, 2001 – Cameron Citizen-Observer

THIS JUST IN: Once America is done watching well-lit game shows and ‘reality-based TV’, the next step will be putting celebrities on distant islands with little to eat. They’re already doing it with the game shows.

Then again, if you watch old game shows, they used to do it all the time, so it’s no big deal. But when the oldest son from ‘Home Improvement’ is arguing with the new cover-model from Maxim, that’s a Nielson rating dream just waiting to happen…

David SternI heard David Stern tell the media at the NBA State of Address that sports are the first reality TV. The sad thing is, he’s right.

I’m mad at Stern because he graduated from my high school and our gym is tacky, but the truth is the truth. That’s why sports fans watch, because anything can happen and usually does.

I’ve noticed that I’ve been talking a lot of baseball in the past weeks, and that’s because I love the sport. Watching the Mets and the Cubs on July 4, with Bobby Valentine and Don Baylor trying to out-manage the other.

In my opinion, that’s baseball at it’s best. The Mets won 2-1 on a suicide squeeze in the second inning; how much more can a true baseball fan ask for.

Nevertheless, I feel I should take a break from the game I love. I’m alienating other sports and the Mets are in last place, so what can you do? You win some, you lose some, and sometimes, it rains…

As I see it, baseball is dying slowing, not only locally, but also across the nation. There is no blame to be placed on anyone or anything, although the strike in 1994 was an albatross. Whether it’s the expanding technological advances that continue to make life faster and faster or the emergence of other sports, baseball is slowly dying. A sport to be watched and admired only by those that understand it, like chess or auto racing…

King's QuestI grew up playing video games, from Atari to N64. There was a time when all of my friends had finished ‘King’s Quest’ and ‘Leisure Suit Larry’, but now I feel out of place with my hands on a Playstation controller. To this day, all I play are sports games.

‘Madden 2001’ has a franchise feature, which allows you to play GM for 30 years. I’m surprised the game still works, the amount of time me and my roommate played it last year. But that never stopped us from watching the real thing, paying attention to every team in every league because, hey, you never know when that kind of useless information might be necessary. Someone might want to know the all time career leaders in triples. It’s a great icebreaker…

But that is my sad and pathetic life and times have clearly changed. I used to listen to AM radio late at night to hear the score; today, kids can find updated sports tickers on their favorite Web browser. It’s a different time, and maybe, baseball is for an older generation. Not that I’m old, but an older way of thinking, perhaps. All I can do is attempt to stimulate and encourage the ‘national past time’ as dearly as I hold it in my heart. Believe me, some of you are missing a beautiful thing…

For the ladies: After watching ‘Bull Durham’, how lucky is Susan Sarandon, fooling around with Kevin Costner and then marrying Tim Robbins?
How good is Ichiro?
Tiffeny MIlbrettDoesn’t the field where the CHS soccer team will practice need a name?
Am I the only one that thinks Donavan McNabb will win the NFL MVP this year?
How many people in this country know who Tiffeny Milbrett and Kasey Keller are?
When their team is out of the playoff picture, do baseball fans become football fans?
Why do teachers make 30 thousand a year and the 12th man on an NBA bench make 125 thousand?
Is our society spoiled or pampered?
Why should the Cardinals get a new stadium and not the Royals?
Speaking of which, do you think Kansas City could support an NBA team?
Will John Stockton and Karl Malone really retire without a ring?
Why is a ring so important anyway?
Is it just me, or has music gone downhill slowly since the 60’s, hitting rock bottom with what MTV plays today?
Is it too early to start talking NFL?
When exactly does a novelty wear off?
Does anyone care about the Beanpot outside of Boston?
What happened to the heavyweight boxing division anyway?
And am I the only one routing for a Roy Jones Jr. – Felix Trinidad fight and against Oscar De La Hoya?
Won’t the Rose Bowl be tarnished this year with Nebraska playing Florida for the national championship?
Is Phil Jackson a really good coach or a coach with the best players in the world?
And where was I when a traffic violation became a $175 charge?
Finally, by the time Allen Iverson is done, he will go down in history as one of the greatest players in basketball history and that’s the truth.

QUOTE OF THE WEEK:
“You know my favorite play in baseball? The bean ball. It’s great, isn’t it? It’s dramatic, especially if the guy is really hurt. Sometimes the ball hits the helmet and you feel kind of disappointed. Even though it makes a good loud noise.”
– George Carlin, Napalm & Silly Putty

Leave a Reply

