How Vital is a Quick Start to the Season?

harvey syndergaard

As I grow older, I’m quick to forget what my mind doesn’t consider important. It’s been years since I remembered the name of the first girl I kissed, but I know the full name of the first female to break my heart.

I don’t remember the last time I was in Shea Stadium, but I’ll never forget my mother taking me to Flushing on Mother’s Day with ground level seats. Thanks to the power of Google, I can confirm it was May 14, 1989 and I moved down to the front row to watch Lenny Dykstra score on an infield error for a walk-off win before an announced crowd of 35,547.

That improved the team’s record to 20-14 and they were 1.5 games up in the National League East. It was an impressive start to the season, similar to what the team put together last year. With such a strong finish and an eventual National League championship, it’s easy to forget about the beginning.

After a 2-3 start that included taking two out of three from the preemptive greatest team ever assembled that still waiting for the rings that Bryce Harper ordered last offseason, the Mets won their next 11 games.

A team that came into the season with questions about their offense scored 57 runs during the streak, allowing 31 runs and truly taking advantage of the schedule by beating up on dregs of the division.

Read the full article on Mets Merized Online.

Leave a Reply

